Friday, November 18, 2016

Stately Bird

Did you know that the Western Meadowlark is the state bird of six states? Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, and Wyoming. Only the Northern Cardinal is a more popular civic symbol, edging out the meadowlark by one state.

In California (where I live), the California Quail is the state bird. I saw a pair of quail back in 2003 and haven't seen any since! Meadowlarks, however, I see (and hear!) just about every time we visit the refuge!

Llano Seco Unit

Western Meadowlark
 (Llano Seco Wildlife Area)

No comments:

Post a Comment